The Power of Leadership

In cleaning my desk the other day, I came upon a gift from someone very dear to me – it is Swanson’s Unwritten Rules of Management. As I thumbed through the spiral-bound book and reminisced all that my mentor shared – I came to the realization – I’ve been one lucky girl.

Since my introduction into the workplace, I’ve been gifted with truly brilliant leaders – who lead with their heart, trusted their instincts and truly believed in their team. It is through individuals like these that we, millennials, can truly grow and create a workplace that we dream of. Companies and teams that perform are those that draw from their strengths. So, here’s what I’ve learned from my glimpse into the workforce:

Collaboration is key:

Good leaders are those that bring in the right people at the right time. You must develop productive partnerships, where others feel valued. Once there is a level of accountability and mutual respect, the possibilities are endless!

Invaluable Advocates:

Be an advocate for your team! It seems so little, but I feel that so often this gets lost. Leaders who set high expectations, then work collaboratively with the team to meet and exceed those results cannot end there! Recognize your team for their hard work and show your appreciate. A thank you goes a long way. (And don’t take the credit for their work – no one likes that).

Be a team member:

Dedication is such an overused word, but I’m using it here. There comes a time when leaders must work beside their team. These are traditionally the most respected managers that yield results. Nothing makes a team more motivated to excel than a leader who also is willing to make the sacrifices to achieve OUR goal.

Lead Change, Don’t Dictate:

No one likes a dictator, especially not millennials. Today’s workforce is comprised of a variety of voices, across different age groups, race/ethnicity and backgrounds – but one thread is common in all of us – we want to feel valued and we want to feel that our opinions and thoughts are appreciated. Forget to listen, and you may find yourself sitting alone in that conference room.

So I guess it’s my time to say thank you! Thank you to two instrumental women who have shaped my career and my professional perception of successful team leadership.

Any of tips and thoughts on various leadership styles?

(Image courtesy of thegoldguys.blogspot.com)

Posted on June 21, 2010, in Leadership/Management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great post! Mind if I use some of the information from this post if I provide a link back to your site?

  2. Heya¡­my very first comment on your site. ,I have been reading your blog for a while and thought I would completely pop in and drop a friendly note. . It is great stuff indeed. I also wanted to ask..is there a way to subscribe to your site via email?

  3. You write very detailed,Pay tribute to you.Couldn’t be written any better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Heya¡­my very first comment on your site. ,I have been reading your blog for a while and thought I would completely pop in and drop a friendly note. . It is great stuff indeed. I also wanted to ask..is there a way to subscribe to your site via email?

  5. You wouldn¡¯t believe it but I¡¯ve wasted all day digging for some articles about this. You¡¯re a lifesaver, it was an excellent read and has helped me out to no end. Cheers,

  6. Thanks for all the kind words everyone!! Makes my day to know that what I’m sharing is helpful!

    Also Phebe – there should be a subscribe button to the right hand side now.

  7. very nice post dude! great website… will be back soon!

Leave a Reply

