Measuring Social

There’s been a lot of discussion on social media measurement and to be honest, I’m still trying to find the right answer, the right mix …

For traditional platforms and even online ones to be frank, a methodology has been established (though never proven right) on how one reports and provides analytics for say a New York Times hit or unique visitors to your website. However, no algorithm quite exists for social media. No one knows that right recipe, let alone the best “vendors” to use.

I remember when I first started learning about traditional media reporting. Take the circulation times 2.5 and that will give you an impression. The first word out of my mouth was, “Why?” Answer: well, that’s the average pass along factor. “Oh really? But why?” Pause … crickets.

So today, when someone asks me how do I measure social media, my question back has always been, “Well, what are your goals? Then, I can tell you what we’ll measure.” I don’t mean to be rude, it’s just that unlike traditional PR reporting, I can’t just give you an impression or sentiment total. (I’m not dissing PR here, I love it. SM reporting is a different beast). And even if I did, would it matter? Would it really give you anything of worth?

Social media is so much more! It’s a conversation among your customers, both advocates and nay-sayers. It helps you change your share of voice in the space, gives you a chance to better a customer’s experience, and it can you provide your customers the product that they want and need. A number is just a number… and although social media can give a reach figure… the question we are supposed to be asking is, “So what?”

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Public Relations, social media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

