Finding My Inner Artist

It’s Monday morning and day 2 of me exploring my inner artist. Over a year ago I received a birthday gift from a dear friend and mentor. It was, “The Artist’s Way,” by Julia Cameron. I started it a few weeks later, but never got far. You know how it goes, work, work, traveling, work work. That didn’t make time for finding me or my inner artist.

So, I made a commitment to myself this weekend that I would start the 12-week course back up. It is my 2010 goal. There are two core requirements, as Julia shares. The first is morning pages. So far, I’m hating the fact that I have to get up even earlier to write three pages of my stream of consciousness. However, I have noticed that I’m much more alert now. For a Monday, I’m pretty chipper.

The second requirement is the artist’s date. I’m hoping that I can make this happen on Wednesday. It’s a date with just me and my inner artist. Hope she likes me.

Are there exercises that you’ve done to find your creativity again? If so, please share!

Posted on October 4, 2010, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

