The Buzz: I Like It On


So by now you might have seen friends’ Facebook status updates starting with “I like it on …”, but your question is WTH is this? Well, October is Breast Awareness Month and the attempt is to unite women around the cause.  The movement mirrors the bra color status update that went viral in January, but I feel like this social media initiative, if I can loosely call it that, doesn’t really achieves anything. By the way, the “it” is their purse. Not a sexual innuendo, but you can see how it can be confusing.

This trend, which I am not partaking in, unlike Twilight fanatics and self-serve frozen yogurt, really does nothing. For me, the bra-color postings didn’t achieve much either, but at least it was tied to breasts and it made me think for a second about that region of my body, then I slowly lingered to the new bras or semi-annual sale at Victoria’s Secret. There were no causes or organizations associated, no real message and absolutely no call to action. What was I supposed to do after I posted my bra color? How about get examined or donate to help find the cure or to support survivors? Nope, none of that.

What honestly bugs me, aside from the obvious disconnect, is that the sexual innuendo here is so blatant that it’s immature. And breast cancer is no laughing matter. Was the point to get online outlets to write about it so that people could go look it up and then have an ah-ha moment? God I hope not. I think that what could have more meaningful impact is having us share the awkward stories of our first examine maybe through a “dislike.” Who knows – the possibilities are there! Whatever it is, it needs to connect us to a clear message with a clear call to action.

I understand that this is a touchy subject. My grandmother died of breast cancer. I get examined yearly and urge my mom and her sisters to get examined and actually talk about their risks. Please don’t take my words as being insensitive to breast cancer. It comes from two places – wishing we did more to raise awareness and raise funds for research and what I do on a daily basis – social media strategy. We have the ability to truly create change, impact behavior and generate meaningful awareness. I just don’t think “I like it on” does that.

What are your thoughts?

Posted on October 7, 2010, in Events, Pop Culture, Public Health/HC, social media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a women who has had two lumpectomies, both of which were benign, I find the “I Like It” campaign (if I can call it a campaign, when it really seems like an asinine inside joke) completely inappropriate and offensive. I don’t like have a two-inch scar on my breast. I don’t like have yearly mammograms starting at age 24. I don’t like performing monthly breast checks and worrying about subtle (or, not-so-subtle?) changes. I don’t like wondering what I might find next week. I don’t like the anxiety placed on me or on my parents. As a matter of fact, I can’t find ONE THING I LIKE. So, I’m left wondering what idiot brainstormed this idea, linked it ever so vaguely to breast cancer (and not Trojan or Yaz), and thought it would not offend. They clearly didn’t talk to someone with breast cancer or to someone who knows someone with breast cancer, which is almost statistically impossible these days. So, I’m not sure what the hell the point was. Thank you, though, Laura, for putting your foot down.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Buzz: I Like It On « Laura's Looking Glass -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

