Be Still: What has the information age done to us?

This weekend, I was catching up on my reading when I found this Website – Do Nothing for 2 Minutes – on Mashable. The serene sounds of the ocean waves and the challenge to do nothing for two whole minutes was actually a little unbearable. To just sit at a computer and not do anything while there. So, I decided to blog instead.

I’m guilty of it. I multi-task, I’m wired and I’m constantly counting my minutes of productivity. To tell you the truth, I’ve gotten better, but I fear this will be a battle for the next 20, 30, 40+ years of my life. This test shows us all that we’re constantly inundated with information and the need to be needed. The ping of our phones when we get a text message, email alert, Facebook post or Tweet. They please our need for affirmation. 

So, as you approach midweek, take a second or maybe 60 and just breathe. I’ll do the same.

About Do Nothing for 2 Minutes

The website was created by Alex Tew and Ben Dowling. Alex is the maker of The Million Dollar Homepage, a hit that raised more than $1 million to pay for his education.

Posted on January 25, 2011, in My Other Bucket, Personal, social media, Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You know, I came across that site myself and did THE SAME THING. Two of a kind I guess.

Leave a Reply

